Skip to content

Part I: Are All Covers Created Equal? Bank Street 6th-Graders Weigh In On RACE.

March 18, 2013

In October, Jamie Steinfeld’s sixth-grade Humanities class began to study book covers with Allie Bruce, Children’s Librarian, and Anshu Wahi, Diversity Director.  What began as a conversation about how people of color are portrayed on book covers soon expanded to include conversations about portrayals of girls, boys, Queer characters, overweight characters, and more.

“What I learned today really changed how I look at book covers. After we finished the conversation in the library, I had so many questions to ask.”

“I learned a lot from the library session about covers, and how they affect people’s first impressions of the book…”

“I learned that book covers are a lot more important than they seem.”

“I feel like all books have a huge impact on our society.”

We learned that some covers “hide” the fact that characters in the book are dark-skinned…

“Why do the people who make covers sometimes make the people of color not have the spotlight? Like LOCOMOTION, why couldn’t we see the African-American face?”

“The cover of LOCOMOTION caught my attention… It just stuck with me. It just seemed so wrong.”

“I think the cover could be hurtful because there is a light shining on the boy’s face, who is from Vermont, and the girl, who is from Mexico, has her back turned.” (On RETURN TO SENDER)

“Society is almost afraid of putting a dark-skinned or Asian character on the cover of a book. I feel like these are minor forms of segregation.”

“Do illustrators think that if a person of color is fully shown, it won’t sell as many copies?”

“The skin of dark-skinned characters is not always allowed to look dark on book covers.”

We learned that silhouettes can disguise a character’s race or hide his/her features…

“One thing I didn’t like about the cover [of CHAINS] was how they didn’t show the features of the girl on the cover.”

“I felt a little uncomfortable looking at the covers of SAME SUN HERE, BIRD IN A BOX, and CHAINS.  I wouldn’t go to extremes and say I was mad at the publishers, but I was definitely a little shocked when I first saw the books and then later realized that all of the characters in the books were people of color.  I didn’t really understand why they thought it was OK to do that, like people wouldn’t notice.  I mean, I guess you wouldn’t really notice unless you read the books, and by that time, you would have already bought the books.”

We will never be the same again:

“I realized a lot about the way covers are made and now I kind of want to be a publisher so that I can break some of these stereotypes.”

“I never realized how much book covers matter to me until today.”

“Now I can tell my family all of the information I learned today and all of the secrets about covers… WOW!!! This really makes me think! I hope we do this again so my head won’t explode!”

Stay tuned for Part II, in which we do, indeed, do this again.  Nobody’s head explodes.

Edit: Part II is now up! Check out what the kids think about gender in covers.

Edit the second: Part III, in which we visit a large bookstore chain that shall not be named, is up!

Edit 7/16: Part IV is up.  Awesome editors have an honest conversation with the kids.

Edit 7/29: The wrap-up, Part V, is now up.  We ruminate and reflect.

EDIT from 2015: Check out the followup series, in which we reflect on how this curriculum has evolved over the past few years, here.

-Allie Jane Bruce

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    March 20, 2013 2:51 pm

    I think you are reading too much into this…Amy Na has photos of Asian girls on her covers.. The Watsons Go to Birmingham-1963…photos of black families on the cover…The Gold Cadillac..MIldred Taylor …

  2. April 2, 2013 12:17 am

    So fantastic. Thank you for doing this.

  3. Gillian Foster permalink
    May 7, 2013 4:05 am

    Very enlightening!

Trackbacks

  1. Are All Covers Created Equal? | Bank Street Library
  2. Pictures of the Week: Bankstreet Students Debate Diversity; Elizabeth Eulberg at TEDxTeen 2013 | School Library Journal
  3. Part II: Are All Covers Created Equal? Bank Street 6th-Graders Weigh In On GENDER. | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  4. Part III: Are All Book Covers Created Equal? Bank Street 6th-Graders Visit a Certain Bookstore Chain | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  5. Part I: Are All Covers Created Equal? Bank Stre...
  6. Part IV: Are All Book Covers Created Equal? Bank Street 6th-Graders Talk With Knopf Editors! | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  7. Part V: Are All Book Covers Created Equal? Wrap-Up and Reflection | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  8. Whitewashing Book Covers: What Do Kids Think? Part I « the open book
  9. Kids’ Thoughts on Censorship (Loudness in the Library Year Three, Part 1) | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  10. Representations (and the Lack Thereof) of Race and Hair (Loudness in the Library Year Three, Part 2) | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  11. Allie’s Reflections (Loudness in the Library Year Three, Part 4) | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature
  12. Rewriting History: American Indians, Europeans, and an Oak Tree (Loudness in the Library Year Three, Part 3) | Bank Street College Center for Children's Literature

Leave a comment