Skip to content

Announcing the Irma S. and James H. Black Awards and Cook Prize Winners!

April 24, 2018

This year’s Irma Black winner is:


7 Ate Nine by Tara Lazar;illustrated by Ross MacDonald

This year’s Irma Black Honor Books Are:


 How the Cookie Crumbled by Gilbert Ford; Sparkle Boy by Lesléa Newman;illus. by M. Mola and After the Fall by Dan Santat

The winner of the 2018 Cook Prize is:

Beauty and the Beak:  How Science, Technology and A 3D Printed Beak Rescued a Bald Eagle by Deborah Lee Rose and Janie Velkamp

The three 2018 Cook Prize Honorees are:



An award ceremony will take place on May 10, 2018 from 10:00 – 11:30 in the Tabas Auditorium at Bank Street College.  Keynote speaker will be author/illustrator Laura Vaccaro SeegerRegister Now.

For a live stream of the event on May 10th go to

The program will begin at 10:00.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: