Skip to content

Help Choose the 2017 Irma Black Award and Cook Prize Winners!

January 9, 2017

ibalogoThe Irma Simonton Black and James H. Black Award for Excellence in Children’s Literature (Irma Black Award) goes to an outstanding book for young children–a book in which text and illustrations are inseparable, each enhancing and enlarging on the other to produce a singular whole. The Irma Black Award is unusual in that children are the final judges of the winning book.

If you work with six to eight-year-olds and would like to help choose this year’s Irma Black Award winner and honor books, please fill out a registration form for your class.

Cook Prize_webThe Cook Prize honors the best science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) picture book published for children aged eight to ten. It is the only national children’s choice award honoring a STEM book.

If you work with eight to ten-year-olds and would like to help choose this year’s Cook Prize winner and honor books, please fill out a registration form.

Voting will begin in February 2017!

If you hear a particularly insightful or funny anecdote about an Irma Black or Cook Prize candidate from one of your students, please share it with us.  Contact  We may read it at the awards celebration on May 18th. Note that this event will be live streamed courtesy of KidLit TV for everyone to access.   We will post a URL soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: